Encouragement, Faith

Why is God Punishing Me?

Borders-03

We have all felt this at one point or another.  I also recently talked with a friend that was feeling this way.  She felt God was punishing for her choices.  I did my best to tell her that it wasn’t God but the enemy.

That’s what the enemy does.  He whispers to us that the torment that we are going through is God’s Wrath.  The short short answer is that He isn’t punishing you.  Our God does not punish He teaches.  He may allow us to go through trials and hardships to teach us something, or to redirect us back to His path.  The rest after that is FAITH & TRUST in His plan.  The hard part is seeing what is happening.  We are human full of flaws and impaired thinking.  That little voice in your head telling you that God is mad at you and punishing you for whatever is NOT God it is our ENEMY!!

“The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, slow to anger and abounding in mercy and loving-kindness.” Psalm 145:8 |AMP|
18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law. … 22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (Gal. 5:18, Gal. 5:22-23) |NET|

Well, He doesn’t punish those who are washed in the blood of Christ.  Even though he allows things to happen.  The time of punishment ended in the old testament punished those who did not obey his laws. He has punished those who persecuted others.  He has even cleaned the slate.  However, since Jesus died for us and we are washed and cleased by the blood of Christ, God said that is sufficient.  God loves us and wants us to know peace and love through Christ.

20170511_103503

What’s really happening is that our enemy does NOT want us to feel God’s mercy and love.  He fills our heads and hearts with doubt, hurt and lies.  Plan and simple.  If you are strong enough which some are and some are not to see this and confess it.  “I see what you are doing and NOPE, not today, I cast you out Satan!!”.  Then seek out Our Redeemer.  This is where a Faith Buddy comes into play.  Maybe they can help you see what you can not and get you to reach the point to rebuke the enemy and seek God’s wisdom and grace.

I know that in the past I felt that God was punishing me for things that I had done in my past.  I repeatedly had a feeling of doubt and pain.  I asked “Why is God letting this happen to us?”  “Doesn’t he love us?”  I allowed the enemy halt and destroy my relationship with God.  I let him “talk” me down and back into a life without God as my refuge and center.  It took me a little over 4 years to listen and come back to my faith.  My walk now is night and day from anything I’ve ever known.  I am fervent about my relationship with my Father.  I have seen the difference and it is amazing.

God was not punishing me for things I had done in my past.  He was there for me and I didn’t listen.  I didn’t see.  I did however keep listening to the enemy whisper his hate in my ear.  Early on in my current walk I cried a lot.  Whenever I was alone and pretty much every time I prayed.  I felt such guilt and shame for allowing myself to become what I had become, and for blaming God for it all.  It was not God.  It was me and the enemy beating me down.

Father, I pray for my friend here.  Lord show them your grace, help them through the struggle they are facing.  Show them Father that you are not punishing them but loving them.  You gave us your Son and we have been washed in the blood.  We cast out our enemy for he has no place here.  Father help us see and hear You over his lies.  You are our lamp Father let us shine our light for you.  You are our gracious redeemer.  We thank you for all that you have given us.

In your wonderful name I pray

Amen

Borders-03

God Bless Y’all

Untitled

2 thoughts on “Why is God Punishing Me?”

  1. So so encouraging! I have been here way too often thinking that I should not be praying for help during a bad situation because it was His punishment toward me. I am so thankful that I have been set free from that lie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

